Posts Tagged ‘astrophotography’

In Memoriam: Martino Nicolini

Saturday, January 31st, 2015

IN MEMORIAM

Martino Nicolini

Feb 1961 – Jan 2015

… We’ll see you in the stars …

*****************************************************

ESCAPE AT BEDTIME, by Robert Louis Stevenson

The lights from the parlour and kitchen shone out
Through the blinds and the windows and bars;
And high overhead and all moving about,
There were thousands of millions of stars.
There ne’er were such thousands of leaves on a tree,
Nor of people in church or the Park,
As the crowds of the stars that looked down upon me,
And that glittered and winked in the dark.

The Dog, and the Plough, and the Hunter, and all,
And the star of the sailor, and Mars,
These shown in the sky, and the pail by the wall
Would be half full of water and stars.
They saw me at last, and they chased me with cries,
And they soon had me packed into bed;
But the glory kept shining and bright in my eyes,
And the stars going round in my head.

*****************************************************

Catching a Comet – on EVENT HORIZON!

Wednesday, June 4th, 2014

LISTEN to the PODCAST of this episode!

Join us this FRIDAY, JUNE 6, at 9pm ET, for a special EVENT HORIZON chat with iTelescope’s PETER LAKE!

As many of our listeners know, Peter is an iTelescope science director and handles their educational development and social outreach. He also happens to have recently acquired this year’s very first amateur image of comet 67P/CG – the target of ESA’s Rosetta mission! Peter will discuss the challenges of acquiring such an image; how he and others are sharing this and similar data through pro-am collaborations like the PACA Project; and how YOU can participate. Peter will also talk about the upcoming near-planet pass of comet C/2013 A1 Siding Spring with Mars and how students are assisting the search for near-Earth asteroids!

* Peter and our hosts will be available to answer listeners’ imaging and pro-am collaboration questions, via the AFM chatroom, during the live presentation at 9pm.

Follow is a list of suggested reading – for your education, enjoyment, and pre-show information. We are looking forward to your questions and comments!:

iTelescope and Education – Exupery Ups the Ante!

iTelescope on Facebook and on Twitter

ESA’s Rosetta mission

Landing on a Comet

PACA Project’s comet 67P/C-G photo album

PACA Project’s Rosetta/67P Facebook group

Shooting Comet 67P from Australia

NASA Preparing for 2014 Comet Watch at Mars

Prospects for Comet A1 Siding Spring versus the Martian Atmosphere

C/2013 A1 Siding Spring Discoverer, Robert McNaught

PACA Project’s comet C/2013 A1 Siding Springs photo album

PACA Project’s CIOC_Siding Spring Facebook group

AWB’s GAM2014 and Student Asteroid Search

Raleigh 7th-gradersMapping Asteroids, Saving the World

Target Asteroids! OSIRIS-REx Asteroid Sample Return Mission

Remanzacco Observatory Blog – Comet and Asteroid News

Sunday, February 16th, 2014

Comet C/2012 S1 ISON imaged 2013Nov15 by TonyAngel

Join us on SUNDAY, FEBRUARY 16, at 2000 GMT / 3pm EST as AFM’s own Under British Skies team presents an exciting evening with the comet experts!

DISCUSSIONS will include: NASA’s Comet ISON Observing Campaign; pro-am collaborations in comet research; dust morphology of cometary comas; the solar wind and comet disconnection events; imaging comets; various comet groups; ESA’s Rosetta mission; future comet targets; and more!

 

Our GUESTS will include:

PADMA YANAMANDRA-FISHER: planetary scientist with the Space Science Institute, member of NASA’s CIOC team, and administrator of CIOC_ISON FB group

KARL BATTAMS: astrophysicist and computational scientist based at the Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) in Washington DC, member of NASA’s CIOC team, and head of the Sungrazer Project

TERRY LOVEJOY: comet discoverer and  original modifier of digital cameras for astrophotography use

ROB KAUFMAN: amateur astronomer and astrophotographer

DAMIAN PEACH: astrophotographer-extraordinaire and 2011 Royal Observatory Astronomy Photographer of the Year

BEATRICE MUELLER: senior scientist with the Planetary Science Institute

ELIZABETH WARNER: astronomy education and public outreach, member of NASA’s CIOC team, UMD Observatory program coordinator, and Amateur Observers Program coordinator

DEAN HINES: Space Telescope Science Institute’s Principal Investigator for HST imaging polarimetry of comet ISON

TONY ANGEL: amateur astronomer, astrophotographer, and key member of the CIOC_ISON FB group

NEIL NORMAN: amateur astronomer and administrator of Comet Watch FB group

SUZY WEBB: amateur astronomer and co-administrator of Australia’s Ice in Space

CHRIS WYATT: amateur astronomer, astrophotographer, and co-administrator of CIOC_ISON FB group

and more!

** Be sure to join us in the AFM chatroom for live Q&A with the guests!

** If you miss the live version, we’ll have replays at 0200 GMT / 9pm EST … 0600 GMT / 1am EST … 1000 GMT / 0500 EST … 1400 GMT / 9am EST … 1800 GMT / 1pm EST … 2200 GMT / 5pm EST.

 

 

 

Inventing Astrophotography: Capturing Light Over Time; by NASA’s SpacePlace

Wednesday, July 17th, 2013

(more…)

Space Pirate Radio Podcast for 2-8-2011 Interview with Peter Lake

Thursday, February 17th, 2011

Now you can listen to the interview by Space Pirate Captain Marleen Bryan with Peter Lake accomplished amateur astronomer. Peter has been observing some unusual changes of a cataclysmic variable star FS Aur. Listen to the Space Pirate Podcast and learn all about it!