February 16th, 2014 by Tavi Greiner

Comet C/2012 S1 ISON imaged 2013Nov15 by TonyAngel

Join us on SUNDAY, FEBRUARY 16, at 2000 GMT / 3pm EST as AFM’s own Under British Skies team presents an exciting evening with the comet experts!

DISCUSSIONS will include: NASA’s Comet ISON Observing Campaign; pro-am collaborations in comet research; dust morphology of cometary comas; the solar wind and comet disconnection events; imaging comets; various comet groups; ESA’s Rosetta mission; future comet targets; and more!

 

Our GUESTS will include:

PADMA YANAMANDRA-FISHER: planetary scientist with the Space Science Institute, member of NASA’s CIOC team, and administrator of CIOC_ISON FB group

KARL BATTAMS: astrophysicist and computational scientist based at the Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) in Washington DC, member of NASA’s CIOC team, and head of the Sungrazer Project

TERRY LOVEJOY: comet discoverer and  original modifier of digital cameras for astrophotography use

ROB KAUFMAN: amateur astronomer and astrophotographer

DAMIAN PEACH: astrophotographer-extraordinaire and 2011 Royal Observatory Astronomy Photographer of the Year

BEATRICE MUELLER: senior scientist with the Planetary Science Institute

ELIZABETH WARNER: astronomy education and public outreach, member of NASA’s CIOC team, UMD Observatory program coordinator, and Amateur Observers Program coordinator

DEAN HINES: Space Telescope Science Institute’s Principal Investigator for HST imaging polarimetry of comet ISON

TONY ANGEL: amateur astronomer, astrophotographer, and key member of the CIOC_ISON FB group

NEIL NORMAN: amateur astronomer and administrator of Comet Watch FB group

SUZY WEBB: amateur astronomer and co-administrator of Australia’s Ice in Space

CHRIS WYATT: amateur astronomer, astrophotographer, and co-administrator of CIOC_ISON FB group

and more!

** Be sure to join us in the AFM chatroom for live Q&A with the guests!

** If you miss the live version, we’ll have replays at 0200 GMT / 9pm EST … 0600 GMT / 1am EST … 1000 GMT / 0500 EST … 1400 GMT / 9am EST … 1800 GMT / 1pm EST … 2200 GMT / 5pm EST.

 

 

 

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. No Comments »

Journey of a Comet

December 14th, 2013 by Tavi Greiner
Comet ISON rounds the Sun (SOHO LASCO C3 NASA/ESA)

Comet ISON rounds the Sun (SOHO LASCO C3 – NASA/ESA)

Yes, it’s true that comet ISON did not withstand perihelion to become the ‘comet of the century.’ There was no glorious reappearance from behind the Sun, and our local horizons were not graced by a splendid long tail. Nonetheless, ISON’s solar-bound passage was a captivating journey, and it did provide unprecedented opportunities. Much of the world turned their eyes skyward for the first time ever; twelve different spacecraft managed observations and images; and professional researchers formally collaborated with amateur astronomers, in a global campaign to learn more about a pristine Oort Cloud comet. In fact, NASA tells us that “comet ISON was the subject of the most coordinated observing campaign in history.”

With the pro-am partnership in mind, NASA created the Comet ISON Observing Campaign, which encouraged amateur astronomers to share their observations with cometary experts. The amateur sector of this pro-am campaign was housed in the CIOC_ISON Facebook group and the Amateur Observers Program, both of which included participants from around the world and both of which succeeded in collecting an extraordinary amount of data for ongoing research.

In the coming weeks, Astronomy.FM’s own Under British Skies team will present a special program featuring many of the participants, both amateur and professional, of NASA’s Comet ISON Observing Campaign. They’ll discuss Comet ISON’s journey through the inner solar system, the consequences of its encounter with the Sun, and the evidence of post-perihelion remnants. We’ll also hear about the pro-am collaboration: how valuable was the amateur data, what does it mean for future partnerships, and what have the amateurs gained from their involvement?

To whet your appetite for the upcoming special, we present you with an exciting collection of images, acquired by the CIOC_ISON Facebook group and beautifully compiled by group member Chris Pruzenski. Enjoy! And watch this page for dates and times of USB’s CIOC program!

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. 1 Comment »

AFM*Radio Returns to Air

December 13th, 2013 by Rob Keown

Due to serious hardware issues we were off-the-air for about 6-hours. From about 1700-2300 UTC, 12/13/2013.

We have transitioned to new hardware and have our precious library is intact. Programming will be a little loose over the next few days as we rearrange the furniture and put down some carpeting (;

In 3.5 years of broadcasting this is the first prolonged outage for us. A pretty good record.

Rob Keown

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. Comments Off

Astronomy.FM Meets the Comet Experts

February 20th, 2014 by Richie Jarvis

This month, the UBS team was joined by Marty Kunz for an epic show talking to some of the Comet Experts working on the Comet ISON Observing Campaign.

The show notes to this can be found at ShowNotes

Join us on Under British Skies team on facebook

Following Under British Skies on Twitter

Here is some more information about the Under British Skies Team

 

 

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. No Comments »

BREAKING NEWS: ISON DIDN’T MAKE IT!

November 28th, 2013 by Michael Foerster
99_Comet_C2012-S1_ISON_131128_SOHO_RIP-Detail

Image courtesy of NASA+ESA’s SOHO & Tony Phillips / Spaceweather.com

It appears that Comet ISON has not survived passage around the Sun.

http://tinyurl.com/ISON-RIP-SOHO-anim
http://tinyurl.com/ISON-RIP-SOHO-detail

As whatever remains gets further from the Sun we’ll have more details….

“ISON come, ISON go….”

“The ISON cometh?”

“Now is the ISON of our discontent
Made glorious summer by this Sun…”

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. Comments Off

Under British Skies Episode 36 – Comet Updates!, ISON network and Mars Missions

November 17th, 2013 by Paul Harper

UBS_logo-300x150

 

This month the UBS team talked about Comet ISON and its recent outburst. We also talk about the ISON telescope network and recent Mars missions.

The show notes to this can be found at Episode 36 Shownotes

Join us on Under British Skies team on facebook

Following Under British Skies on Twitter

Here is some more information about the Under British Skies Team

 

 

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. Comments Off